The FOMMS Medal honors "profound and lasting contributions by one or more individuals to the development of computational methods and their application to the field of molecular-based modeling and simulation."

Nominations are now being encouraged for the FOMMS 2022 Medal. The past awardees are highlighted below. To nominate a distinguished colleague for the FOMMS 2022 Medal, send an email to the conference chair (Jeff Errington, with a short nominating statement (1-2 pages). The nomination can be supported by a group (and signatures do not count for the page limit). Supporting letters beyond the nominating statement will not be considered. The deadline for nominations is August 27, 2021.

Past Recipients of the FOMMS Medal:

2018: Professor Peter Cummings.

Professor Cummings is the John R. Hall Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Associate Dean For Research for the School of Engineering at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, TN. Peter also directs the Multiscale Modeling and Simulation (MuMS) group at Vanderbilt, an interdisciplinary research facility housing faculty from the School of Engineering. His research interests include statistical mechanics, molecular simulation, computational materials science, computational and theoretical nanoscience, and computational biology.

2015: Professor Carol Hall

Prof. Hall is the Camille Dreyfus Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at North Carolina State University.  She has won numerous awards, served as the AIChE Institute Lecturer in 2007, and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.  She has been at the forefront of several important research areas related to computation and theory, including the modeling of phase separation in colloidal suspensions, modeling and equations of state for chain molecules, and coarse-grained simulations of protein aggregation.

2012: Professor Keith Gubbins
2009: Professor Michele Parrinello    

Parriello Medal award:

FOMMS Medal 2009 from Jon Moore on Vimeo.

Parrinello Award lecture:

Michele Parrinello FOMMS Medal Lecture 2009 from Jon Moore on Vimeo.